MMAPlayground.com

Forum Index > Community > MMA News Share Forum
Alessio Sakara’s Manager Filing Appeal; Wants Rematch with Patrick Cote on Neutral Ground   [View Full Version]
Pages: 1 [2]
tallica62 » Posted 6/22/07 2:18:00AM

If anyone is to blame it's the ref. for not warning, stopping/calling it with those hits. I don't believe Sakara did it intentionally. Not that it matters, but in my eyes Sakara won - even if they were illegal blows - it was enough to put Cote out, and I think had he moved a few inches and made them legal, Cote was still finished

telnights » Posted 6/21/07 4:17:00PM

Sakara broke the rules its that simple. He knows the rules its not like he wasn't informed on them many times. Cote was unable to continue due to those illegal strikes so it is a DQ. Now Dan Miragliotta I feel is one of the worst refs in MMA and him not giving Alessio a warning was a mistake but it doesn't change the fact the fight was ended due to illegal strikes.

_______________________________________
MMA Playground Mod
Telnights

george112 » Posted 1/24/07 7:00:00PM

Sakara broke the rules and lost. Don't even see what the debate is.

Yeah the ref should have warned but at the same time sakara the fighter should have realized what he was doing . Just because he pounced on cote trying to finish him isn't anywhere close to being an excuse.


Sakara needs to deal. He's been in the fight game long enough. That wasn't his first rodeo or second or third. He knows you can't do that . Intentional or not rules were broken and he was penalized

_______________________________________
Ron Paul 2016

prozacnation1978 » Posted 7/5/07 11:42:00PM

I say do it at 156 or 157 event

Gogoplatapus » Posted 7/24/09 6:01:00PM

I don't think he got the hometown call, I just think they fucked up. Then again, PQ is notoriously crooked.

shaneTpain » Posted 7/30/11 2:57:00PM

1 word.

REMATCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

NE-1 » Posted 4/26/07 10:47:00AM

Sakara broke the rules and it cost him. Whether or not it's the refs job to warn him or not is debateable. He knows what the rules are and as such should operate within them, but history has shown that refs usually warn about illegal strikes.

The real issue in my opinion is the rule. I think it's somewhat laughable that in a sport where you can knee, kick, punch and elbow your opponent in the face, choke them unconcious, and extend a limb until it breaks, hitting the back of the head is illegal. How can you call the sport ultimate fighting when a fighter can offer up the back of his head as a defensive tactic to avoid punishment. Maybe allow open handed strikes to the back of the head IDK, but I find the rule silly.

grappler0000 » Posted 3/24/07 5:29:00PM


Posted by Gogoplatapus

I don't think he got the hometown call, I just think they fucked up. Then again, PQ is notoriously crooked.



The ref may not have done 100% of his job that night, but he did follow the proper guidelines for determining a DQ. Whether it seems like the right call or not, it was done in alignment with the rules.

_______________________________________

BuffaloDave » Posted 8/14/11 9:31:00PM


Posted by king_katool


Posted by airkerma


Posted by Bythar

This is a bunch of bull. Sakara isn't going to get a fair shake in Canada the manager says? The ref screwed up? Sakara broke the rules. Not a fence grab or anything like that...he clobbered a guy on the back of the head a lot of times. Lost a lot of respect for the Sakara team here. It isn't either Dan, Canada or Cote's fault that Sakara didn't keep to the rules he agreed to follow.


Actually it is on Dan, as it is his job to protect the fighters and his job to step in when someone is being unscrupulous. Also, it probably is the fault of Canada, as is everything that goes wrong on Earth.



O ya blame Canada for everything, go ahead were all too stoned to care




I immediately thought of this with your response

bjj1605 » Posted 10/11/07 4:18:00PM


Posted by Goatenstein

He very deliberately pounded away at the back of Cote's head.



How do we know it was deliberate?

I think he was just punching because he was excited. I don't think he was aiming for the back of the head.

bjj1605 » Posted 10/11/07 4:18:00PM


Posted by george112

Intentional or not rules were broken and he was penalized



You can't say "intentional or not" because the rules make a distinction based on intention.

Intentional = DQ

Not Intentional = NC

Pages: 1 [2]


[View Full Version of this Page]