Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

jiu-jitsu gii

Print  
Posted By Message

Gladiator

In Full Mount

Gladiator Avatar

Career:896-523
Chips:
i need a gii to take jiu-jitsu classes at this place, but the only ones i can find are over $100 which would be fine but im saving my money for college and i have to get my car fixed. i called a karate dojo to see if they had giis for sale and they said they could order me one of these for $30. i need to know if there is a difference between these gii "uniforms" and a jiu-jitsu kimono. i dont want to look like and idiot showing up in a karate gii to a jiu-jitsu class if there is a deifference.

Post #1   7/6/07 11:06:54PM   

MattHughes

MMA Regular

MattHughes Avatar

Career:87-35
Camp: themmaboards.com
Chips:
I'm new to BJJ but I think you want a weaved one and those don't look weaved. Now I could be wrong lol I just ordered a gameness single weave gi which was $85 but didnt include a white belt and I saw a HCK gi that was $70 on www.nhbgear.com and I got my gameness at www.gameness.net search around I'd rather buy a good quality gi and spend more money. I'm in the same boat as you about to go to college and I'm gonna have trouble keeping up with the BJJ money.

Post #2   7/7/07 12:55:05AM   

RmblFsh

Learning to Sprawl

Career:71-40
Chips:
jiu jitsu gis are thicker than martial arts gis. the gi itself is also sewn together to hold up to the rigors of grappling. your karate gi will fall apart and/rip after a few months imo.

Post #3   7/8/07 8:49:03PM   

bayonetxwork

In Full Mount

bayonetxwork Avatar

Career:114-60
Camp: TUFFS Fight Club
Chips:

Posted by RmblFsh

jiu jitsu gis are thicker than martial arts gis. the gi itself is also sewn together to hold up to the rigors of grappling. your karate gi will fall apart and/rip after a few months imo.