Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

With Sakara's team planning appeal of UFC 154 DQ, ref Miragliotta explains his decision

Print  
Posted By Message

FastKnockout

TRICK 'R TREAT

FastKnockout Avatar
7
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:13,406
Career:1,876-1,035
Joined:Sep 2010
Camp: Project Mayhem
Chips:
1,705
Dan Miragliotta contends that most of the shots that hit Patrick Cote just prior to a stoppage against Alessio Sakara were legal blows.

Three weren't, however, and the longtime referee said he issued two verbal warnings before the third blow knocked Cote out and forced his intervention.

"As long as hand makes contact with the ear, it's a legal strike," Miragliotta told MMAjunkie.com. "If you miss the ear and only hit the back of the head, it's illegal."

LINK

Post #1   11/19/12 9:49:15PM   

frizzzlecake

MMA Sensei

frizzzlecake Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:1,651
Career:506-309
Joined:May 2012
Chips:
368
I'm glad his manager is doing this, It should be a No Contest clearly. Dan gave no implications that Sakara was hitting the back of the head, until after the fight. Like appeals courts they should look at the job of the ref and Dan simply didn't do enough.

Now let them rematch. I thought Cote was going to run through Sakara, he looked in shape and ready, but Sakara looked great too.

Post #2   11/19/12 10:02:18PM   

kopower

Heavyweight Champ

kopower Avatar
14
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:5,681
Career:2,306-1,232
Joined:Jul 2007
Camp: Dark Horse
Chips:
1,397
Interesting. I didn't hear, or see Dan warn Sakara. I suppose it was the right call, if he did warn him twice before the fight ended. I'm pretty sure I saw more than 3 illegal blows though.

_______________________________________
Billy Madison-

What you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in the playground is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no props, and may the mods have mercy on your soul.


Post #3   11/19/12 10:04:43PM   

king_katool

MMA Sensei

king_katool Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:1,086
Career:325-231
Joined:Mar 2008
Chips:
200
I didnt have an issue with the call till now.

"As long as hand makes contact with the ear, it's a legal strike," Miragliotta told MMAjunkie.com (www.mmajunkie.com). "If you miss the ear and only hit the back of the head, it's illegal"

I thought it was a "Mohawk" line down then back of your head that was illegal. different refs implement different rules in different ways, which shouldn't happen. Now all a fighter has to do when miragliotta is ref is turn your head.

I feel Dan has opened a can of worns here

Post #4   11/20/12 12:09:43AM   

RacingHartPurple

MMA Regular

RacingHartPurple Avatar
8
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:86
Career:1,994-1,200
Joined:Nov 2009
Camp: Project Mayhem
Chips:
27
I think I counted 8 shots to the back of the head, but I didn't see Big Dan warn him...whatever, he deserves the DQ or NC.

Post #5   11/20/12 1:07:00AM