Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST
  MMA Playground 4.0 is live!     Returning members: check out the patch notes     New members: visit our getting started guide, read the FAQ's and start playing!

Rousimar "Toquinho" Palhares - back muscle.

Print  
Posted By Message

scoozna

Liver shot!

scoozna Avatar

Career:2,202-1,233
Camp: The Ringers
Chips:
This is not a thread about his recent ADCC matches...

I've been doing a little (perhaps very little) lifting for a few years. I'm working on the basics of developing good form. I believe I can only dream of having an upper and mid-back like this guy. How in the world does he do it? Is he just a freak of nature? Does he have an insane workout regimen in addition to his BJJ/MMA skills training?

Assuming he does no roids (correct or not) what lifts is someone going to have to do get the upper/mid development like this? Is it mostly his lats that give him that thickness?

Post #1   10/18/11 3:24:26PM   

grappler0000

MODular Approach

grappler0000 Avatar

Career:2,668-1,480
Chips:
I'm assuming he has good genes. Add lifelong grappling and (assuming) weight training for grappling to the mix and viola...you're built like a tree trunk.

Weight training for grappling consists primarily of the pulling exercises. Biceps, lats, back, and core training. I'm sure he works his lats, but he has some serious thickness throughout his back. I'm sure he does a variety of row exercises on top of dead lifts.

Post #2   10/18/11 5:36:04PM   

Pookie

Remember Paul Herrera

Pookie Avatar

Career:1,830-1,011
Chips:
His shoulders are naturally wide, which allows for more muscle to grow along the back on it's own.

He's said he spent many years lifting cement bags, and working the fields. So i assume that has something to do with it as well.