Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST
  MMA Playground 4.0 is live!     Returning members: check out the patch notes     New members: visit our getting started guide, read the FAQ's and start playing!

Print  
Posted By Message

hein

Learning to Sprawl

Career:1-1
Chips:
Hey guys

My name is hein and I have been following the mma for only a few months now. So its fair to say I am a newbie. I am really excited about this forum.

I live in south africa in the western cape.

Post #1   7/14/11 4:36:34AM   

emfleek

FA-Q

emfleek Avatar

Career:2,245-1,185
Camp: The Ringers
Chips:
Welcome to the site (and the sport), hein. If you have any questions about the game or the sport in general, do not hesitate to ask. We have some very knowledgeable members who are always willing to help out.

Since you're new to the sport, my suggestion is to watch as many old fights as possible. Familiarize yourself with some of the sports biggest names, both past and present (Royce Gracie, Ken Shamrock, Wanderlei Silva, Chuck Liddell, Randy Couture, Fedor Emelianenko, Hayato Sakurai, Anderson Silva, Georges St. Pierre, etc.) Watch as many videos as you possibly can. Once you latch on to some of these fighters and consider them as some of your favorites, it'll become much easier to learn about the sport. You'll crave more and more and, before you know it, you'll eat, sleep and breathe MMA. This truly is a remarkable sport and it's nearly impossible to burn yourself out on it.

Sorry for little rant. Anyways, welcome aboard. Enjoy your new obsession!

Post #2   7/14/11 8:19:59AM   

Budgellism

Raptors Fan

Budgellism Avatar

Career:2,694-1,543
Camp: Project Mayhem
Chips:
Welcome to the Playground. Like Emfleek said, you should really watch as much mma as possible. This site is great for it. Just check out the mma videos section and enjoy.

Post #3   7/14/11 9:02:30AM   

Theoutlaw08

MMA Sensei