Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

Need advice on building power..

Print  
Posted By Message

HonestlyIDontCareLol

Learning to Sprawl

Career:6-5
Chips:
I'm 15 years old, I've been doing MMA for about 6 months now. I was in boxing for about 2 years before I quit and switched to MMA. I've been doing very well, a lot better than I thought. I competed in a few submission grappling tournaments and actually did very well. However, I'm 5'6" and fairly big for my age and height. When I punch, I can hit pretty damn hard and pretty quick. However, I don't feel as if I have knockout power. Some people I spar with tell me I have heavy hands, but I've hit plenty of people with some really nice, hard shots. And they normally just back up for a second or shake it off. I want that Fedor Emelianenko punching power. And I know I won't be able to get THAT much power at age 15, but still I'd like to know what all I can do to enhance my punching power. Anyone who knows of any ways to do this, please comment and let me know.

Post #1   6/9/11 1:57:16PM   

papercut

Hulk Status

papercut Avatar

Career:1,290-1,016
Chips:
I personally do explosive press exercises and it seems to work for me. (I'm 19, 6', 175lbs)
Explosive meaning lowering the weight down slowly then exploding up with it.
this method can be used with bench press, dumbbell press, push ups. Also you can practice your technique in the mirror to make sure you are turning your hips properly which can greatly improve your power with no added weight lifting needed.

Post #2   6/9/11 7:48:17PM   

tcunningham

Combat Sport and Fitness

tcunningham Avatar

Career:535-379
Chips: