Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

Sports Journalism as of Late(Especially in the Newton Case)

Print  
  Page 1 of 2     1     2  
Posted By Message

gartface

Heavyweight Champ

gartface Avatar

Career:1,406-898
Camp: Hand Grenade Hillbillies
Chips:
The lack of integrity in journalism as of late, especially regarding the Cam Newton case, has absolutely made me question the field I got my degree in. You guys probably already know, and I'll say this so BlueSkies doesn't jump all over me, but I'm a big Auburn fan. With that said, I also have a degree in Mass Communication, and I take big issue with journalists passing off rumor as fact, and citing "unnamed sources" as the only sources in their stories.(E.G. Joe Schad)

I'd be devastated if the stuff came out and was true about Cam Newton, but at this point, my problem is with the integrity of the media, who seems to be passing off speculation as fact. I've seen the words "charges" used when there have indeed been no charges outside of the laptop incident two years ago, only allegations. Yet to see sources named, and when John Bond was listed, he quickly got on 680 the Fan here in Atlanta and said he never had direct contact with Kenny Rogers.

It seems like everyone is just jumping on this story as a ratings boost, and all it's doing is adding to what, at this moment, seems to be a smear campaign that has done nothing but assassinate a kid's character.

This is far from the only incident that has had this type of media reaction. It's just sad to me how mudslinging can be passed as journalism. If you need a ratings boost, how about stop showing Poker and start showing MMA, Soccer, etc. Maybe stop letting your journalists pass their blog-quality rants off as a newspaper/online article for your publication.