Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

Stephan Bonnar to appeal UFC 110 loss, claims headbutt should lead to draw

Print  
Posted By Message

emfleek

FA-Q

emfleek Avatar
11
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:18,778
Career:2,296-1,214
Joined:Nov 2007
Camp: The Ringers
Chips:
2,257
UFC 110 competitor Stephan Bonnar, who suffered a TKO loss to Krzysztof Soszynsk at UFC 110i due to a deep facial cut, plans to appeal the loss and hopes to have it overturned to a draw.

Bonnar confirmed the plans to The Times of Northwest Indiana's Caged In MMA site, for which he also blogs.

Bonnar, who competed on the un-aired preliminary card of the Feb. 20 event, said the cut was caused by the first-round headbutt – an illegal blow – and that the referee should have gone to the scorecards after the third-round stoppage.

Instead, the referee determined the cut was caused by a punch, though multiple replays of the fighters bashing heads in the first round aired on the video screen at host site Acer Arena in Sydney, New South Whales, Australia.

LINK

_______________________________________
"I'm like the superhero coming in with the anti-bullsh*t." - Nick Diaz

Post #1   2/24/10 10:10:07AM   

Pyrenus

MMA Regular

Pyrenus Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:193
Career:430-263
Joined:Jan 2007
Camp: Team World Class
Chips:
16
I thought they were allowed to view the replay now. Why didn't the ref check it out?

Bad call, I was thinkign the same thing as bonnar. It should have gone to the scorecards.

Post #2   2/24/10 4:01:10PM   

bjj1605

Heavyweight Champ

bjj1605 Avatar
7
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:3,212
Career:1,533-897
Joined:Oct 2007
Camp: Dark Horse
Chips:
680
Well I don't know what the score cards actually were but in my opinion there is no way it would be a draw. A TKO was the wrong call but Stephan still should lose a decision.

Post #3   2/24/10 5:11:36PM   

prozacnation1978

Heavyweight Champ

prozacnation1978 Avatar
4



 
 
 


 
 
Posts:12,823
Career:2,436-1,301
Joined:Jul 2007
Camp: Dark Horse
Chips:
920
i have to agree head butt causes cutt to end fight
should be a draw or no contest

Post #4   2/24/10 5:39:20PM   

xdanish020

MMA Sensei

xdanish020 Avatar
13
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:1,432
Career:2,420-1,317
Joined:Sep 2008
Camp: Project Mayhem
Chips:
165
it should have went to the cards, in which case, he would have lost a unanimous decision

Post #5   2/24/10 5:49:10PM   

bjj1605

Heavyweight Champ

bjj1605 Avatar
7
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:3,212
Career:1,533-897
Joined:Oct 2007
Camp: Dark Horse
Chips:
680

Posted by prozacnation1978

i have to agree head butt causes cutt to end fight
should be a draw or no contest



It wouldn't be a draw or a no contest because it was past the midway point of the fight. If a fight is ended by an unintentional illegal strike after the half way point of the fight it goes to the judges score cards and they score it based on what has happened so far. So Stephan should still lose but by UD instead of TKO.

Post #6   2/24/10 8:50:39PM   

DosBox

MMA Regular

DosBox Avatar
1
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:246
Career:913-534
Joined:Dec 2008
Chips:
62
Basing on the replay of the cut itself, I leaning toward an accidental headbutt.

Im not sure who was the ruling Commission at UFC 110, but the NSAC's ruling on a situation states this:


NAC 467.7966 Fouls: Accidental. (NRS 467.030)

........
2. If the referee determines that a contest or exhibition of mixed martial arts may not continue because of an injury suffered as the result of an accidental foul, the contest or exhibition must be declared a no contest if the foul occurs during:
(a) The first two rounds of a contest or exhibition that is scheduled for three rounds or less; or
(b) The first three rounds of a contest or exhibition that is scheduled for more than three rounds.


3. If an accidental foul renders an unarmed combatant unable to continue the contest or exhibition after:
(a) The completed second round of a contest or exhibition that is scheduled for three rounds or less;

or
(b) The completed third round of a contest or exhibition that is scheduled for more than three rounds,
the outcome must be determined by scoring the completed rounds and the round during which the referee stops the contest or exhibition.

Link


Im not sure if the UFC uses the NSAC for their overseas stuff, I assumed that they did considering they used NSAC sanctioned referees (Herb Dean, Josh Rosenthal) , but I've also heard that Australia used their sanctioning body.

Post #7   2/24/10 10:00:32PM   

Jesse_Canadian_MMA

Belt Contender

Jesse_Canadian_MMA Avatar
4



 
 
 


 
 
Posts:875
Career:1,776-1,097
Joined:Jan 2008
Camp: Canadian Fight Club
Chips:
69
definitely no contest, I woulda preferred it to go to the judges at that point though, in which case Bonnar woulda lost anyways I think
or preferred the doctors to let it go, but i understand the safety issue.

Post #8   2/24/10 10:32:10PM   

soundboy1

Standup Guy

soundboy1 Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:261
Career:521-395
Joined:Jan 2008
Chips:
24
I would like to think the Krystof would have won the decision...but who knows what the aussie judges were seeing....I mean i've seen about 100 bad calls over the years...

Post #9   2/25/10 1:26:27PM   

tcunningham

Combat Sport and Fitness

tcunningham Avatar
1
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:3,269
Career:508-351
Joined:Sep 2009
Chips:
642
i though that fight was really good. yeah it aint the 2 best fighters out there but theyre both scrappers and it was a damn shame to see it end like that. i dont think either fighter was satisfied with that call. krystoff got a tko he didn't earn and it didnt make his career any better without a real win.

_______________________________________

Post #10   2/25/10 10:46:30PM