Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

So you're starting MMA Training? Listen up.

Print  
  Page 1 of 6     1     2     3     4   >>
Posted By Message

Omega

Go TEAM!!! or I will kill you.

Omega Avatar

Career:482-300
Camp: Team Bullshido
Chips:
Okay kids (yeah I'm the old man);

I've seen 3 threads started lately about "how do you get started in MMA?" So here's one way to do it. I started doing Judo at the age of 9 switched to kung-fu and did kickboxing for my full contact experiance. In 1992 I came across a competition called shootwrestling/shootfighting that was being held in Japan and I started training on the ground more often to be prepared. Less than a year later UFC 1 happened and the nhb/mma explosion begun, I hooked up with a sambo group and practiced with whoever I could find.

In my experiance there is one really sure fire way to start in mma and this is covered in BJ Penn's new book on MMA. Start somewhere and get good at it. I did Kung-fu for 10 years before taking my first kickboxing match. I did kickboxing for 2 years when I decided to do nhb and I already had a judo background. It doesn't matter where you start but get good at it. Once you get good at it then you can take everything else that will round you out. You'll find that everything will start to link and make sense. So whether it's wrestling, boxing, kickboxing, muay thai, Taekwondo, BJJ, SAMBO, submission fighting get good at it and establish a base.

How long will it take? Usually about 6 months of intense training in on thing will start to establish a base, 1 year is better. Then start adding on and round out your game. If you are starting from scratch you're looking at about 2 years out if you have an athletic background. If not it may take longer.

Any questions?

Post #1   12/13/07 12:43:16PM   

loonytnt

MMA Sensei

loonytnt Avatar

Career:299-241
Camp: Diaz Fan Club
Chips: