Pick'em Leagues: THE BIG SHOW CASUAL BEST OF THE REST Single Event PvP: FANTASY POOLS Betting Leagues: THE BIG SHOW BEST OF THE REST

Was Gray Maynard out?

Print  
Was Gray Maynard Out?
Yes (No Contest) 95 71%
No (Gray Won by Tapout) 38 29%
  Page 3 of 7     1     2     3     4     5     6   >>
Posted By Message

buckndro

MMA Regular

buckndro Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:135
Career:580-376
Joined:Jun 2007
Camp: Chicago Top Team
Chips:
6
he looked dazed or knocked out after it either way was judges/refree call looked like it was made right to me

Ad: Find out about FanDuel's newly launch game called Mixup

Post #31   6/24/07 4:00:58AM   

scoozna

10 Year Service Award Winner

scoozna Avatar
12
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:3,321
Career:2,944-1,713
Joined:Jan 2007
Camp: The Ringers
Chips:
668
He was "out" enough that any ref would have stopped the fight if they had been looking at him alone.

Emerson was tapping pretty much at the same time - we only get to see it in slow motion on the replays.

I agree that they should define the rule - is it the order in which it happened or is it the fact that they both could not continue (judgement call).

_______________________________________

Post #32   6/24/07 8:55:33AM   

iwin

Learning to Sprawl

iwin Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:34
Career:60-27
Joined:Apr 2007
Camp: Diaz Fan Club
Chips:
3
It has to be NC. You seen them both one taps out and the other is knocked out. They both couldn't go on so I'm glad it was decided that way. It would be awesome to have a rematch

Post #33   6/24/07 9:30:17AM   

spider1179

MMA Regular

spider1179 Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:98
Career:788-526
Joined:Jun 2007
Chips:
2
Especially after watching the replay, Gray was definately out. This was the right call.

Post #34   6/24/07 11:22:29AM   

allmotormark

MMA Regular

allmotormark Avatar
13
 
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:61
Career:1,035-549
Joined:Jan 2007
Chips:
6
i agree that he was out but the ref stoped it cause of the tap ....so the win should gone to gray, ref had no clue he was out

Post #35   6/24/07 12:08:24PM   

DJDark41

MMA Sensei

DJDark41 Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:1,022
Career:363-219
Joined:May 2007
Camp: The Pit
Chips:
90
NO. Gray might have been "out" but the ref did not stop the match because Gray was out, he stopped it because Emerson tapped, and WAY after the match was stopped, they realized Gray was a little bit out of it. But he wasn't asleep, he was just out of it. Gray should've got the win by submission.

Post #36   6/24/07 1:51:51PM   

richieb19

MMA Sensei

richieb19 Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:1,601
Career:239-153
Joined:Feb 2007
Chips:
170
Newton/Hughes 1 anyone?

Post #37   6/24/07 1:57:36PM   

Tamara

Learning to Sprawl

Tamara Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:42
Career:190-182
Joined:Feb 2007
Chips:
2
Gray was out. It was obvious to me as soon as my husband exclaimed "who won" that it should of been called a no contest. For all the reasons stated in this thread.
I am sure today Gray is reviewing the tapes and realizing that the fight was called in the correct way.

I was not surprised by all the excuses we heard tonight from the fighters. The season was full of cry babies and men unable to take a loss like a man, respectfully with out excuses of previous injuries and whatnot.

Post #38   6/24/07 2:31:31PM   

kbak303

Learning to Sprawl

kbak303 Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:24
Career:19-19
Joined:Apr 2007
Chips:
1
was he out? yep...but if you look at the overhead replay..the ref NEVER looked at Gray..he was checking out Emerson...so I dunno how you'd call the end of the fight..i mean the ref called it due to tap out..coulda gone other way if he called it with Gray out and never saw the tapping of Emerson...so..tie goes to the base runner?!?

i thought Emerson was a bit more classless than Gray at the end...

Post #39   6/24/07 2:42:25PM   

MisFiT

In Full Mount

 
 
 


 
 
Posts:636
Career:33-24
Joined:Mar 2007
Chips:
27
Of course he was out, not only did he stiffen up but he fell with his eyes glazed over then fell on his ass and lost it again once he tried to get up.

Post #40   6/24/07 2:43:48PM   

kbak303

Learning to Sprawl

kbak303 Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:24
Career:19-19
Joined:Apr 2007
Chips:
1

Posted by iwin

It has to be NC. You seen them both one taps out and the other is knocked out. They both couldn't go on so I'm glad it was decided that way. It would be awesome to have a rematch



I'm just asking..but if the ref had SEEN both of them out (1 tapping and the other with Tweety birds circling his eyes) then NC woulda been good, IMHO..i mean...they called NC long after the ref called the tapout...and from the side judges i guess...

is this kind of a normal thing, the NC for something like this?

Ad: Find out about FanDuel's newly launch game called Mixup

Post #41   6/24/07 2:45:03PM   

JimiMak

WarWagon Never Die!

JimiMak Avatar
1
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:1,851
Career:454-333
Joined:Jan 2007
Camp: JT WarWagon
Chips:
219
I don't think it should be either / or. Who cares that he was out. If I can make a guy tap while I'm ko'd I should still win.

And just because his eyes were open doesn't mean he wasn't out. ppl get ko'd all the time and their eyes don't close. He was completely out. Often when you wake up you need to be told you were out.

He got screwed, you wake up from a ko and find out you just got screwed out of a legit win, and tell me you aren't gonna be pissed.

Post #42   6/24/07 3:33:03PM   

shackle

Standup Guy

shackle Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:367
Career:152-97
Joined:Jan 2007
Chips:
17
I think Maynard was out before the tap. When he hit the ground he KO'd himself. I think Maynard would of won the fight though. Despite what people may think if you KO yourself ... it's still a Loss.

Not sure what to do though cause either way you are gonna piss people off. NC was the best idea IMO.

Last edited 6/24/07 7:00PM server time by shackle
Edit note/reason: n/a
2 total post edits

Post #43   6/24/07 3:46:48PM   

KingKash

MMA Regular

KingKash Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:110
Career:507-390
Joined:Jun 2007
Camp: hot kASH
Chips:
5
I just love the fact that he actully did KO him self. At first I was pissed off, because he tapped and Gray won, but looking at it now..... it is just funny to watch. I could watch Gray run his head into the mat over and over. The fact is that the NC was the best way to go, but still funny to watch and Joe constantly telling him that he was out was fun to watch.

Last edited 6/24/07 4:12PM server time by KingKash
Edit note/reason: n/a

Post #44   6/24/07 4:12:19PM   

bayonetxwork

In Full Mount

bayonetxwork Avatar
 
 
 


 
 
Posts:771
Career:114-60
Joined:Feb 2007
Camp: TUFFS Fight Club
Chips:
58
He was out.

Post #45   6/24/07 4:20:14PM   
 
  Page 3 of 7     1     2     3     4     5     6   >>