Wrestlers...Natural Advantage?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Wrestlers...Natural Advantage?
Iowa91CamaroRS
1/28/08 1:17:56AM
I'm just wondering what you guys think and maybe this has been posted already...I'm starting training and am beginning with some boxing and some jiu jitsu, but having a fairly good amateur wrestling background, will this help me out pretty decently or will it not affect my style at all?
THE_DRiZzLE
1/28/08 1:23:38AM
well i'm no expert, but it shouldn't hurt.. most likely will depend on your ability to adapt imo..
Iowa91CamaroRS
1/28/08 1:26:18AM
I mean it i know it will help with my take downs, but vertically i'll need help and hopefully the boxing will help...but a big thing will be trying not to get on my stomach...i don't know, but i'm excited to learn...i think i'll need to pick a better place to train tho
Kracker_Jap
1/28/08 1:33:28AM
I'm a long time amature wrestler Freestyle greco, colegant..... I think the best thing other than skill wrestling can teach you is work ethic.....

And I know that there are plenty of all around mma guys that train hard but in wresltling the sport has generations of experiance handed down from coach to student... bla bla wrestlers are the best period and yes we have the advantage
THE_DRiZzLE
1/28/08 1:36:00AM

Posted by Kracker_Jap

I'm a long time amature wrestler Freestyle greco, colegant..... I think the best thing other than skill wrestling can teach you is work ethic.....

And I know that there are plenty of all around mma guys that train hard but in wresltling the sport has generations of experiance handed down from coach to student... bla bla wrestlers are the best period and yes we have the advantage

he makes good points..
Iowa91CamaroRS
1/28/08 2:25:44AM