Women Cutting Weight

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » General MMA Talk » Women Cutting Weight
aceprone
9/15/07 4:17:12PM
With the recent Gina Carano situation about her cutting weight. I've noticed on forums that people are giving her a hard time. I have read cases, expecially in the "Sherdog" forums, that she doesn't take the fight game seriously. Which could be true, but there is no proof.

I think what her problem about cutting weight might be a natural problem. Now, I'm no doctor or anything like that, but I have taken some science classes in college and what I do know is that the man's body weight is different then a women's body weight. For instance, a man's body weight is made of more water then it is fat. And women have more fat stored in their body then water. That is why it is easier for a women to get drunk then a man, because women don't have enough water to dilute the alcohol in their system.

Now, with the fight game, men can cut 15lbs of just water weight alone, even if the man has a low fat percentage. But that's because men are capable of doing this, because of the extra water weight stored in our bodies. With women, a weight cut like this can be extremely more difficult for a women, expecially if the woman is in shape and doesn't have a high fat percentage in her body, like Gina Carano.

With this being said, I think women should not be made to make extreme weight cuts and my advice to Gina is to fight at a slightly heavier weight. For her own health and safety.

If anyone else has any other facts about this, please share, I am all ears!
scobac
9/15/07 4:59:23PM
what's the situation with Gina Carano? specifics?
JimiMak
9/15/07 5:07:35PM
Basically she's never fought lower than 145 (if I'm not mistaken) this fight is at 140 and ppl think she looks emaciated and are starting to take the high odds for her opponent thinking she's overdone herself.