*Vent*: my advice to you dreamers-

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » *Vent*: my advice to you dreamers-
Omega
9/16/07 2:22:28PM
After going through this last group of threads and the past 2 months I've had at my gym I feel the need to vent:

I've been in the fight game for awhile, I just retired from fighting in 2005 not because I'm too old it was because I stopped caring about winning. Didn't care if I won or not and that's not good mind set.

I look on these forums and I sometimes see "Ew I just tapped that guy", or "I would kick that persons butt", you know what I'm talking about. I've been training guys for 6 years in mma and 8 years in kickboxing. I see it all the time, dreamers who want to become fighters. Everytime I talk to them it's the same speech over and over again. "Okay, whatever" and I walk away.

I had one guy last month talk to me up and down about how he wanted to become a fighter. I told him I'd believe it when I see it. He got angry and didn't join (gee I'm broken up inside). The rumor mill was that he talked a lot of crap about me (don't blame him) and then joined another gym. My response "no he didn't" and an arguement ensued on how could I be so sure. Two weeks later I called the gym and asked if so and so joined. The owner said he showed up to two classes and hasn't been seen since. Happens all the time.