Truly a deep question of philosophical significance. (No jokes, please)

MMAPlayground.com » Off Topic » Off Topic » Truly a deep question of philosophical significance. (No jokes, please)
Next Page »
Jackelope
6/1/08 4:28:53PM
I am definitely one to blame for the other thread getting loose on a tangent, but let's try to get it back on track with a serious discussion this time-

One of the things I always pondered when I was a student of philosophy (several years ago) was whether or not the idea of something manifests it's existence- therefore nullifying any argument that it "does not exist".

A profound example of this is obviously the idea of the Christian God. One can scientifically breakdown all of the "facts" but never prove the existence (or non-existence) of God. Does this mean he doesn't exist? Explore the possibility that God does not exist, but that the idea of God is a very real thing with very significant impact on the world around us. Does that not, in itself, prove the existence of God and legitimize his being?

Imagine one day scientists provided concrete evidence disproving the existence of God. Millions of His followers would descend upon those scientists with claims of shenanigans and claiming God absolutely can not be proven wrong because our fickle minds cannot grasp the divinity of this being that is God. The idea of God would live on (as it has in the face of evolution) and whether scientifically proven to exist or not, the religious zeitgeist (mind of the time) about God would adapt and overcome the scientific obstacles that have disproven what was formally known about their God with clever words and by attributing even more mystical properties to an already mythical figure. In essence, he would live on. Even though it has been proven he does not exist in this hypothetical situation we ponder.

So, can ideas manifest reality?