Tricks For Training While Injuried

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Tricks For Training While Injuried
Blacklist26
7/26/07 1:23:36PM
In my nine year career, I got hurt quite a bit. Now as most of you know, you can't always just drop everything you're doing in training so that you can sit at home recovering. So I would like to hear everyone's little tricks for training while you have an injury. Mainly because now that I've retired due to a severe back injury, I plan on coaching a few people and these would be really useful tips... especially since I've been told I'm a tough trainer and I don't usually like students I'm coaching just sit out when they're hurt. lol

I'll start by sharing a tip I used while training for a tournament (three fights) in Germany. At the time, I had hyperextended my left elbow pretty bad. But I knew most of the fighters in my bracket were boxers that relied on ground and pound with limited grappling knowledge. I have a very good kickboxing backround, but my usual game plan against a striker is to use my judo to get him down, then counter whenever they bring at me with my BJJ until I can lock in a submission. The problem was that I was fighting in a weight class heavier than what I was use to, so everyone else had a good 3 inch reach advantage over little ol' me. I knew that even with my Muay Thai, I couldn't do much damage on my feet... my kickboxing was nothing more than defense. But taking it to the ground meant I had to get way inside the pocket and clinch... shooting for a leg wasn't really an option because I could hardly straighten my arm due to my hyperextended elbow. So for almost three weeks straight, all I did in training was keeping my arms bent and guarding my face, bobing and weaving, and foot work.