Give me some tips on training anyone?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Give me some tips on training anyone?
Bowen50
6/25/07 1:11:50AM
I'm 16 years old and i have been thinking about starting to seriously train for MMA competiton. I have some background in jiu jitsu and i am starting tai kickboxing in the coming weeks. I work out 4 days a week. If anyone has any exercises they would like to share with me to help improve my power and cardio i'd be more then happy to hear them.
richieb19
6/25/07 1:16:30AM
Run, run, and then run some more. Don't concentrate on ascetic workouts, focus on building core strength and flexibility instead. Workouts like dead lifts, squats, bench press and olympic press are your friend, bicep curls can wait till the end of the workout if you have time. Find a good school to train, go as often as you can, and compete as much as you can, even if you lose.

ps. I take it you mean Brazilian Jiu Jitsu? How long have you been in, and what type of kickboxing are you joining?

EDIT: Doing interval sprints while running (or even on an elliptical machine) will vastly improve your cardio, however rolling often will build it up even more.
Bowen50
6/25/07 1:22:32AM
yeah i work BJJ every few weeks with my dads personal trainer. I'm joining a Muay Tai place. I already have a gym membership and the area i live in is great for running (lot of hills). I already have great strength i always do bench, squat, all the core exercises. I try and stay off the carbs as much as i can and eat a lot of protein. Any other cardio exercies or plyos you'd recomend?
richieb19
6/25/07 1:25:43AM