Ten Days till Fight

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Ten Days till Fight
Roleheki
2/11/09 6:52:36PM
I'm fighting a guy in ten days who is about 3 months into muy thai. So my question is what can i expect to see from him. I dont really know anything bout muy thai besides it's alot of kicks elbows and knees. but that dont neceserily mean i know what he's going to do. i'm looking for a little more detail

my fighting background is BJJ, AND BOXING. i'm really into bjj

So im asking for advice what am i going to see and what is recommended on how to approach the fight.
seanfu
2/11/09 7:16:01PM
The answer varies. I'm no expert by far, but I'm at about his level of formal training.

If the guy does the regular traditional muay thai then he's going to throw and land a Lot of leg kicks. Muay Thai focuses on straight power punches and leg kicks.

So If you're a seasoned boxer you might be able to dip by a jab or straight right and end it before he throws a follow up leg kick.

If he hasn't had much time kicking previous to muay thai though, I wouldn't say he'd be super dangerous with the kicking though due to lack of coordination.

Muay Thai lacks good head movement when coming in (Generally) and the style usually means he'll be explosive as hell when he goes for a strike or combo. Thai guys usually don't use a ton of angles or footwork either aside from the occasional evasive move.

Hopefully you learned how to check a kick pretty well. I'm guessing you're an amature fighter, and if the no strikes to head of grounded oponents rule applies where you're fighting you might be able to pull guard with little risk.

You should mention more of your strengths.

These are not recomendations with the fight plan but merely food for thought.
Roleheki
2/11/09 7:32:25PM