Supplements

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Supplements
atlas777
4/30/08 10:46:34PM
Does anyone take supplements if so could you help me out by telling me what helps im looking to add muscle mass and get lean at the same time. Any help for increasing my performance and effectiveness what do you guys suggest?
skatenate
4/30/08 10:58:13PM
im not an expert as im quite new to the whole supplements thing, but i was recommended one and been using ever since with some good results. im guessing you do some kind of mma training so you'll need one with protein (muscle growth) and also carbs(fuel). when ur looking for a supplement product, have a look at the ingredients table coloumn where it says 'per 100grams', you want a nice balance between protein and carbs (mine is 40% protein 46% carbs). thats really pretty much all i can give you, and no doubt ill probably be corrected. but it works for me, so yeah.
seanfu
4/30/08 11:17:27PM
Creatine works well. I used it and peaked quickly.

Be weary of muscle. depending on what weightclass you want to be in it could eff u up. If you build muscle at a super high rate you can get tendonitis, it's unpleasent. Also make sure you're using the muscle you put on and not just having it to have it. You can increase your strength in a huge way with only about 5-6 pounds of muscle gain. (estimate) Muscle uses oxygen. (forewarning)

With supplements I'm not too sure I only used creatine. You might be interested in whey protein or muscle milk. Also, Creatine causes about 2-3 pounds gain of water. Don't cut weight with it and you have to stay hydrated.

Also, not really a supplement but useful. I just discovered Pedialyte this winter. After a weight cut, instead of drinking water drink gatorade and pedialyte and you'll recover more quickly. your body will actually obsorb what's coming in instead of just hilding it.

lance70301
5/8/08 11:22:00PM