Just started training!

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Just started training!
gunsnbam
8/10/08 9:20:07PM
Hey everybody, I just started training MMA. In about a week I will be training 4 days a week. From 7-9pm. Currently I am 175lb, and 6'2 but I am not very strong at all. Before I started MMA, I had learned and read a lot about bodybuilding and how to build mass. But now that I am training MMA, my main concern is strength. What is a basic strength training routine I can use at my local gym, a couple hours before my mma clases? and what is the diff, in routines, between mass and strength training?
Svartorm
8/11/08 12:50:32AM
I'd honestly recommend you hold off on the weights for a few months until your body gets used to the rigors of training. Doing 4 days a week is going to be rough in and of itself, and your body is going to need the off time to heal between classes. In a few months, it would be a good idea to work a little weight training on your off days, but I wouldn't do weights the same day if you can help it.
fullerene
8/11/08 8:46:06AM

Posted by Svartorm

I'd honestly recommend you hold off on the weights for a few months until your body gets used to the rigors of training. Doing 4 days a week is going to be rough in and of itself, and your body is going to need the off time to heal between classes. In a few months, it would be a good idea to work a little weight training on your off days, but I wouldn't do weights the same day if you can help it.

Good advice.