Silva wins by "strikes to top of head"

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » UFC Forum » Silva wins by "strikes to top of head"
stroff
2/4/07 10:31:02AM
the strikes silva used to win,,,is that legal ???????
madmarck
2/4/07 10:54:17AM
umm didnt Anderson Silva make Lutter Tap. And i dont thinkin striking to the top of the head is illegal i think it is only to the back of the head.
Moneymakers911
2/4/07 11:00:07AM
yes and no the strikes for some reason that are illegal if you are standing and bringing your elbow down on an oppoents head but if your are on your back the motion i guess changes even if your using the same part of your elbow to the same part of your oppoents head, either way i dont think lutter was getting out of the triangle

But the strike that was illegal was the low blow that Tyson Griffen took and the the Ref Steve Maza-something just said to keep going, im sure he will get some attention for that crappy call.
aceprone
2/4/07 11:00:29AM
those elbows were a close call. But I think they were a just the right limit to be legal. It was a good fight. Things turned for lutter in the first round, I just wonder if he made weight it would of pushed him to actually finish the fight or put up a better fight. One thing that is interesting about Lutter is his take downs. They seem so boring and sloppy, but they're always effective. I would like to know what were Lutter's reasons for not making weight.
zephead
2/4/07 11:00:38AM
You can't bring the elbow straight down. It has to have a arc to it. I thought they were close to being straight down
bayonetxwork
2/4/07 11:34:39AM
The thing that made them legal was Silva was bringing them across his own body, which is the "arc" that makes them non-downward. Its just that the angle Lutter was in from the triangle that caused it to be practically the same weapon as a downward elbow.
madmarck
2/4/07 11:49:32AM
they did seem legal. If the ref didnt dis allow them and lutter didnt complain. They were prob legal.
GladE8R
2/4/07 12:06:24PM
They were really close....the rule is "No elbows to the TOP of the head....Silva was coming down and arching them off of his head, so it wasnt exactly illegal, had he hit him on top of the head with no movement of his elbow after the strike, it would have been illegal and Lutter would have been given time to recover.
shawneth
2/4/07 12:22:21PM
Those were not illegal. They are illegal if they come straight down though. Andersons Elbows were coming across almost like a normal elbow parallel to the head. Atleast thats how couture explained it.
Stickan
2/4/07 3:33:44PM

Posted by Moneymakers911

yes and no the strikes for some reason that are illegal if you are standing and bringing your elbow down on an oppoents head but if your are on your back the motion i guess changes even if your using the same part of your elbow to the same part of your oppoents head, either way i dont think lutter was getting out of the triangle

But the strike that was illegal was the low blow that Tyson Griffen took and the the Ref Steve Maza-something just said to keep going, im sure he will get some attention for that crappy call.



Agree with everything mentioned. The elbows went in a sweeping motion as Randy explained and not the downward spike that is illegal.

Randy really said it all.
ghosty82
2/4/07 8:07:01PM

Posted by Stickan
Randy really said it all.


Randy admitted that he really didn't know for sure though.
Svartorm
2/4/07 8:25:06PM
Its the motion of the strike thats illegal, not the part of the elbow or anything like that. There are multiple kinds of downward elbows that you're not allowed to use. If you'd like to see which ones, throw in UFC 2 and watch Orlando Weit bet up that flabby kickboxer guy.
Sakuraba
2/5/07 11:27:10AM
isn`t the must-arch rule changed? seems like they elbow straight down alot..
Spiderman
2/5/07 3:57:13PM
I thought Point of the elbow strikes were not allowed ? also strikes to the top of the head ?
Trapt1nw0nder
2/5/07 5:26:19PM
only Horizontal(parallel to the canvas) elbows are allowed....Vertical no...so those were legal

allevil86
2/5/07 5:59:46PM

Posted by ghosty82


Posted by Stickan
Randy really said it all.


Randy admitted that he really didn't know for sure though.


randy said he didn't understand why the rule was such but he was clear that it has to arc not straight downward
AkiraTheDon
2/5/07 7:38:57PM
Yeah, spiking the elbow is illegal, they just said sometihng about them bouncing off to the side. so i guess its cool now?
JunCTion
2/5/07 11:49:14PM
just say what the KOTC guys say. replace the word "elbow" with "forearm. forearms to the top of the head.
Svartorm
2/6/07 12:24:52AM

Posted by Spiderman

I thought Point of the elbow strikes were not allowed ? also strikes to the top of the head ?



Those are allowed, which is why there are so many cuts. When you ban point of elbow strikes, you're essentially only using forearms.
hippysmacker
2/6/07 3:37:53AM
I think it was fine, the ref never even warned him that I heard. Randy di say it looked okay then backtracked a little. I wish he had taken about 5 more before he tapped , just to punish him for not making weight.
Svartorm
2/6/07 3:48:43AM
I think it would have been funnier if Lutter had to tap to the triangle, and thereby getting subed by the guy no one thought had sub skills. Too bad Silvas legs are ten feet long and he can't get the choke on.
Related Topics