Shrimping drills?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Shrimping drills?
wasuppers
10/2/09 3:46:45AM
Hello all!

just wanted to know how long in duration should i drill shrimping and bridging exercises. i have just received Stephan Kesting dvd and there are about 20 or so drills for said drills. so how many mins per exercise and is it ok to drill everyday if i wanted to? thanks guys!!!!

BTW

is it a no no to use a judo gi for bjj? i really dont have 105 to spend on gi?
RyanC
10/2/09 5:34:50AM
I am still a novice to BJJ, but shrimping is something I have been working on a lot lately since one of my training partners has been able to get mount on me repeatedly during our grappling sessions. I typically will work on a drill for several minutes at least. 5 minutes per drill would maybe be a good number, but maybe some more experienced guys can chime in. I don't do a lot of work on drills by myself though. I'm typically working against someone.

Judo gi, and BJJ gi are not quite the same, but I guess it would depend on how strict your gym is on requirements. You can get another gi for way less that $105. www.centurymartialarts.com has lightweight BJJ gi's for like $35 bucks. Take a look. My guess is you can find something that will work for a reasonable price.
Rush
10/2/09 7:52:41AM
I agree with the above. Gotta do the drills with a partner, not solo. If I do these drills solo I get bored in about 5 seconds added to that there is no challenge.

About the Gi, I would like someone to chime in because I was under the impression that they were the same Gi. There are various grades of judo Gi and I figure all of them should or would be acceptabe in BJJ.
RyanC
10/2/09 12:14:07PM

Posted by Rush

I agree with the above. Gotta do the drills with a partner, not solo. If I do these drills solo I get bored in about 5 seconds added to that there is no challenge.