Science Test -Trivia - now with answers

MMAPlayground.com » Off Topic » Off Topic » Science Test -Trivia - now with answers
Rush
11/13/07 11:37:17PM
I thought I would do a trivia test for everyone. I am a scientist so I am going to base mine on science. I am also a Star Wars fan so I am going to throw in a bonus at the end.

One difference though, I am going to let you do your research .i.e you can use the internet, books or whatever source you want/need. I look at it this way. I figure you will learn more if you search for the answer rather than me just giving it to you. You might learn something else in the process.

One thing. I am going to make at least some of these questions tough to answer. i.e. somewhat wiki proof.

Do not post answers. PM me the answers. Top 3 scores get props.

1) In general (one word), what causes BSE/CJD in bovine/humans?

Prion - prions are essentially protein aggregates that form a foam like substance. BSE (Bovine spongiform encephalopathy) and Creutzfedlt-Jacob disease (CJD) are diseases caused by prions in cows and humans respectively

2) What is the smallest known ribozyme? How big is it in nucleobases?

The leadzyme which is abour 30 nt long - I actually posted this information in the discussion section of the ribozyme page in wikipedia. The ribozyme page on wiki is severely incomplete and outdated (I know because I am doing my PhD on ribozymes)

3) In 1978 what drug was approved to treat cancer?

Cisplatin - a very common drug used to treat cancer. The way it works is kind of cool. Look it up in wiki if interested

4) What metal is heaviest? Titanium, Zinc, Nickel?