Question about different heavy bags

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Question about different heavy bags
DGradwohl
9/10/07 9:11:04PM
Hi, im fairly new to MMA and I feel its time to invest in a heavy bag. The problem is I dont know what to look for in a bag. Ive gotten decent on my speed bag, and ive been practicing combinations and power as much as I can on it, but I am sure I could really benifit from having a heavy bag to work on as well.

Im 6' 0" 140lbs... and ive picked out a couple bags that interest me, I would really appreciate it if you more experienced guys could give me some pros and cons of them, as well as what they would suggest buying.

I plan on training all sorts of striking on the bag including kicks and knees.

Bags
Bag #1
Bag #2

Thanks in advance for any/all feedback

fullerene
9/11/07 8:41:33AM
A few questions:

1) Do you have a place to hang these? (enough space and structural support)

2) Will you be kicking the bag as well as punching it?

3) Would you want to get two bags if they were both useful for different things?
Mastodon2
9/11/07 10:11:44AM
The problem here is that there is no single bag that can do everything for MMA.

Bag one looks like a good all rounder, it looks nice and long, so you can practice low, mid and high striking. Bag 2 looks nicely shaped for clinching and kneeing, but is not long enough to practice low kicks on, which are something you will definitely want to practice.

Bag 2 will not be suitable as a grappling dummy, and bag 1 is not ideal either, but will be better than bag 2. The best option I would say, would be to get a bag like bag 1, its a good all rounder, and you can practice a full arsenal of strikes on it, even if its not the ideal shape for knees, it will work. If you could later buy a grappling dummy for practising your GnP too that would be a good route to go down.