Planning to compete for first time October 9 2010, looking for advice

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Planning to compete for first time October 9 2010, looking for advice
RyanC
8/3/10 4:47:44PM
I started traing BJJ/MMA last July, and have been training pretty consistent other than a couple months I took off during the spring to remodel my house. I'll be competing as a beginner/novice - white belt. I'm currently a Lightweight, but I'm going to try to drop a few pounds to get down to Featherwieght before the day of the competition since I think it will be to my advantage to be at the top end of a weight class rather than the bottom.

So anyways, what I'm looking for is advice on how to prepare to compete since I've never done this before. What should I be doing to improve my conditioning and muscle endurance? What should I be eating? What should I focus on at the gym? How should I mentally prepare myself?

Any help would be appreciated. . . the decision to compete was just made so I have yet to consult my intructors and members of my gym, but any extra help I can get would be much appreciated.

Thanks guys!
Caesarrrr
8/3/10 7:36:49PM
Are you competing in MMA or BJJ?

I'd caution against dropping down the night before, you'll lose a lot of energy. Speed and cardio will be better at a natural weight, especially if you're not used to weight cutting.

How would you rate your Cardio and muscle endurance?

And what are some foods you like to eat? I'd eat a lot of protein and greens, and eat smaller meals throughout the day. Not just 3. The week before start eating more pasta. Also mix in breads.

Jackelope
8/3/10 7:45:24PM
You'll definitely want to carb load the night before if you can.

One thing I would say about your first tournament is to not place too much pressure on yourself. Go out there, relax, and have fun. It's not like there is anything real serious on the line here. Just go learn and have fun.