Pitbull's Training Log

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Pitbull's Training Log
Pitbull09
1/6/09 1:47:11AM
So to begin with, what I am doing is very lame and I accept that so avoid flaming.
Here it is.
For two years now, I have had a amatuer type fight group with my friends (pretty much a bunch of rednecks backyard wrestling) and after around 20 fights later, we decided to end the whole thing with a one day tournament as this is our last year of high school. It's an eight-man single elimination tournament and I really really want to win this.
Its not just a statement that I beat my friends at some dumb fight club thing but it would give me confidence as I am working to do amatuer MMA sometime in the late summer or early fall.
My Backround- I have been training submission grappling for 8 months now and have no other real fight training or experience. The only stand up I do is bag work in my weight room but I'm sure my technique is all wrong. I look at YouTube for help in boxing but eventually will be training Muay Thai next year in Ohio hopefully.
The reason for this thread is simply motivation to be disiplined in my training up to the tournament (sometime in march) as it will get me not only in peak condition for that but also another grappling tournament in the spring.

So from now on, I will be logging in my workout along with some details of the other guys in the tournament.

Please pity wish me luck than flame
postman
1/6/09 9:22:02AM
Pull guard and sub em all!
Mattchoo
1/6/09 12:53:23PM
If you have no training in that sort of thing, going off on your punch bag isnt going to make you any better old boy.

Try looking at fine technique and going through the motions slowly on the punchbag. Instead of whaling on it you'l actualy pick up the proper technique that will eventually be self taught into your shots!

Should keep you at a good enough level before you train properly anyways.