BJ Penn Is The Best Striker In MMA

MMAPlayground.com » Community » MMA News Share Forum » BJ Penn Is The Best Striker In MMA
DCRage
12/20/08 10:49:58AM
So says Freddie Roach to Yahoo's Kevin Iole. Roach also thinks Penn would beat Georges St. Pierre in a striking match if that happened.

Article
Jackelope
12/20/08 10:54:06AM
Maybe from a boxing standpoint, but Freddie Roach doesn't know a ton about kickboxing and the like. It's a totally different game
Chuteboxer
12/20/08 11:07:16AM

Posted by Jackelope

Maybe from a boxing standpoint, but Freddie Roach doesn't know a ton about kickboxing and the like. It's a totally different game

Exactly what I was thinking.
MikeyG
12/20/08 11:09:30AM

Posted by Chuteboxer

Posted by Jackelope

Exactly what I was thinking.

i think freddie also meant boxer, and if so yeah i agree, but yeah not the best all around striker no
artofdefense
12/20/08 11:22:24AM
And I'm a chinese jet pilot.
D0wnUnd6e6r
12/20/08 11:25:14AM
BJ is a very good striker, but saying he's the best in mma... that's kind of a bold (see what i did there) statement. Sure he's already proven that vs GSP he probably will still have a slight edge on the feet, but as for the rest, IMO he comes up just a little bit short ( cardio, wrestling, ground control even though Penn's a master of the rubber guard). I like BJ very much, definitely in my top 5, but IMO he'll lose again to GSP.
SpiderSilva
12/20/08 11:42:52AM
I'd say he is up there who has ever matched him in his stand up he said something we all watched in their 1st fight thats why GSP kept going for the takedown also when BJ gasses he just stands there like a fool and gets picked apart
HumanTarget
12/20/08 11:50:12AM
If I had to pick an all Around "MMA" striker, not some K-1 guy who came into MMA, I would say Arlovksi. Really smooth striking and great kicks. Its like watching a movie.
wapttn
12/20/08 11:54:19AM