Hi everyone. Newbie from Montreal, Canada

MMAPlayground.com » Community » Introduce yourself » Hi everyone. Newbie from Montreal, Canada
aristipe
6/13/10 1:23:41PM
Newcomer here from Montreal, QC, Canada. My real name is Peterson. When UFC 1 came out on VHS, I rented that tape, but I didn't really follow the sport after that. I'm a lifelong pro wrestling fan. I was always aware of UFC's existence, but it wasn't really shown on TV in Montreal. A few years ago, one of my younger brothers talked to me about Mirko Cro Cop and Fedor Emelianenko. I watched a few Cro Cop highlights on YouTube, but I didn't really know how to follow the sport of MMA beyond that. I became more interested with the success of GSP, but once I got cable TV, I didn't even know that the UFC could be watched on Spike TV. It's only a few months ago that I stumbled on UFC Unleashed on Spike. My 1st PPV experience was UFC 112, and I only caught the 2nd half of it at La Cage Aux Sports (a local sports restaurant and bar). Despite the Anderson Silva vs Maia main event, I was glad I was there to witness Frankie Edgar upset BJ Penn for the title. I've watched every UFC ppv since then, and I searched online for all fights from Fedor Emelianenko, Mauricio Shogun Rua, Anderson Silva, GSP, BJ Penn and Jose Aldo. I know that long time wrestling fans are often ridiculed for believing that Brock Lesnar would destroy Fedor. But after watching a few Fedor fights, I don't even see how Brock stands a chance !!! So after watching UFC 115 last night, I decided to join this forum. As a newbie, I will certainly not consider myself an expert at predictions. More often than not, I will probably go with whoever is the favorite to win a fight. My only exception is the upcoming Lesnar vs Carwin fight. I think Carwin will knock out Brock Lesnar, but I could be wrong.
cowcatcher
6/13/10 1:32:00PM
welcome peterson, i think youll have a lot of fun with the game as a new fan.
aristipe
6/13/10 1:43:38PM