Not new to lifting but am having trouble creating a MMA routine.Can I get some help?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Not new to lifting but am having trouble creating a MMA routine.Can I get some help?
BigPapaGato
10/15/10 2:30:17PM
First off here's a little information about me:

I'm a 27 year old Paramedic who's 5'8" and 235lbs and am roughly 25.2% bodyfat. Even though i've always been on the husky side i've always managed to stay active and participate in sports.

I just started training in MMA (BJJ, Judo, Kickboxing and Muay Thai) for about 3 weeks now. I train twice a week on average 3-4 hours each session.

My physical goal is to drop down to roughly around 180lbs of lean muscle mass.

My training goal is to increase my overall conditioning and endurance.

I am fine tuning my diet currently as I was on a Primal/Paleo diet but am thinking I need to increase my carb intake due to the training session. I plan to stick to fruits and veggies as my primary source of carbohydrates.

My training schedule looks like this:

Mon - ??
Tue - MMA
Wed - REST
Thur -??
Fri -??
Sat - MMA
Sun - Rest

I work 24 hour shifts so on wed/sun I do not train at all as I am working. Tuesdays and wednesdays I train MMA.

My question is what kind of training routine should I look into for Mon, Thur, Fri?

I'm accustomed to a "bodybuilding" type of training program but i'm looking for a routine that is more in line with my goals.

Can anyone out there help me? I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!
Jackelope
10/15/10 4:14:36PM
Let me introduce you to a little thing called crossfit.

www.crossfit.com

Go.