Muai thai or BJJ

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Muai thai or BJJ
Next Page »
KeNn
11/12/07 10:57:06PM
Hey I'm new around here, My names Ken.
I have 2yrs of boxing experience, but quit about a year ago.

I'm looking to get in the mma game, I'm 16 yrs old 5'9 170.

My question to you is, for a smaller guy that's looking to join mma,
would you prepfer BJJ or Muai thai? I am really interested in both.
I do like standing toe to toe, but I am really intrigued with submissions, and ground game.

thanks!
cmill21
11/12/07 11:33:32PM
Do both, your not that small, you could make the cut to 155, and be a larger LW. I say do both.
KeNn
11/12/07 11:47:24PM
I'd love to do both, but seeing as I have no experience in neither.
it might be a little overwhelming to take in both arts. On-top of that I'm a full time construction worker. lol yes I'm an idiot who dropped out when I'm 16.

I'm quite out of shape now, being "green" going into martial arts.
is there anything I should be aware of before joining? I am looking to compete, but keep my full-time job also. I understand you get alot of guys asking these kind of questions, So I appreciate you guys for your replies.
postman
11/12/07 11:57:49PM
Find a camp that will teach you MMA not just one part. If you like it, your only problem will be deciding what you want to be tought that day If you have to pick one I would say BJJ since you already have some stand up. But if you want to be a top fighter it will take you training in everything and working full time to get there. Good Luck!!!!!
loller90278
11/13/07 12:28:10AM
don't worry about MMA. get your ass back to school and get a damn education.

if you're in california, think about taking the CHSPE (california high school proficiency exam) www.chspe.net

some other states might have the same test but im unaware of them.

at least get your diploma from high school or even a GED.

dropping out of school may well be the worst possible decision one ever makes!
Mastodon2