Kidney Stones

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Kidney Stones
The-Don
11/21/08 7:20:22PM
ok for our medical experts.. What the deal with these.. They suck they are painful and come one with out warning and are messing with my training? How do you help prevent one.. how do you get rid of one... ??? I mean I know you piss it out.. but how can you make it go faster. ?
Jackelope
11/21/08 7:22:23PM
How serious of kidney stones are we talking here? If you're talking serious kidney stones then I hope you're posting this from a hospital bed somewhere....
The-Don
11/21/08 7:33:06PM
I been to the hospital they sent me home with pain meds and said it is small enough to pass.. but its no where near pain free..
Jackelope
11/21/08 8:18:25PM
Ahh, okay.

Well I'm not a doctor, but I know some people are more prone to kidney stones than others. You need to ensure proper hydration, proper diet, and if you're taking any supplements like Creatine you may want to analyze the effects some of those can bring on. Especially people who combine creatine with cutting weight.

There are some pills and drinks doctors can prescribe to try to help break up kidney stones, but I'm not sure if they're available over the counter.

Edit: and I'm sorry to hear you've got them. If they're anything like I've heard they're not the kind of pain I would wish on anyone
The-Don
11/21/08 8:29:47PM
oh yea the pain is bad.. its a cross of getting kicked in the sack and stabbed in the gut at the same time.. though it is not always constant,. when it is on the move is when it is worst. I was told to drink lots of fluids and avoid soda. It just came on out of no where which is what sucked..
Twenty20Dollars
11/21/08 9:42:33PM
I saw an article a couple of weeks ago and it was saying how more and more kids today are having kidney stones because they are having too much salt. Also I had a friend last year that had him and he got his from drinking too much soda at his work.
Jackelope
11/21/08 10:13:27PM