Jake Shields: Strikeforce Wants To Push "Has-Beens" Like Shamrock & Le-Not Great Young Fighters

MMAPlayground.com » Community » MMA News Share Forum » Jake Shields: Strikeforce Wants To Push "Has-Beens" Like Shamrock & Le-Not Great Young Fighters
DCRage
7/7/10 10:31:44AM
Which seems to be one of the reasons that Jake Shields left the promotion for UFC. "I’m brand new to the UFC but they have treated me absolutely wonderful much better than Strikeforce to this point. They return my phone calls and I get seats unlike Strikeforce but so far things have been absolutely perfect. I don’t want to knock Strikeforce because that’s not my style even though they did treat me like **** which was unnecessary because I never talked bad about them. Honestly I would love to see Gilbert and Nick in the UFC. Even though Strikeforce is a good show, everyone knows it’s the number two show. They have a handful of good fighters but all the top competition is in the UFC and I feel that Nick and Gilbert are good enough to fight at the highest level. I just don’t see Strikeforce putting the marketing strength behind him as they didn’t for me. I feel like they (Strikeforce) want to go after the places that have already been built like Shamrock or Cung Le. They don’t seem really interested in building top young fighters in their prime. They had a great batch of young fighters like me, Nick, Gil and King Mo but they weren’t interested in great young fighters and instead all the push went to 'has beens' like Shamrock and Cung Le. It seemed like they wanted to push people who were no where near their prime."

Article
RyanC
7/7/10 10:47:59AM
I love how he says he doesn't want to knock Strikeforce because "it's not his style" and then he goes on to bash the crap out of them.
SmileR
7/7/10 10:48:29AM
I kinda agree with Jake on this. Strikeforce come across as a pretty shitty run company.
DCRage
7/7/10 10:52:26AM