Hitting Mitts

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Hitting Mitts
haynesr07
6/25/10 10:26:14PM
So my cousin and I recently started training/working out. but I am wondering, when we do the mitts, what is the numbers for high kick and elbows or knees? i'm curious, i've googled it but nothing has came up.. a little help would be awesome
Rush
6/25/10 10:33:51PM
At the Muay Thai place that I trained (Adrenaline MMA, owned by a number of Canadian MMA fighters) the numbers were

1 - Jab
2 - jab, cross
3 - Jab, cross, hook
4 - Jab, cross, hook, cross

Then, we would work on individual techniques like kicks, uppercuts, etc. in combination with the basic numbers.

For example, if we were doing body kicks a # 3 would be

Jab, cross, hook, body kick

I hope this helps as I do not know if there are more advanced numbered combos. I didn't do that much.
haynesr07
6/25/10 10:55:22PM

Posted by Rush

At the Muay Thai place that I trained (Adrenaline MMA, owned by a number of Canadian MMA fighters) the numbers were

1 - Jab
2 - jab, cross
3 - Jab, cross, hook

Then, we would work on individual techniques like kicks, uppercuts, etc. in combination with the basic numbers.

I hope this helps as I do not know if there are more advanced numbered combos. I didn't do that much.

well we do it like
1 - jab
2 - cross
3 - left hook
4 - overhand/right hook

i think your way would be easier personally, but then again my cousin is much more experienced than myself.
Taylor8766
6/28/10 6:10:06PM
Everyone has there own numbers for hitting mitts the way we do it is:

1- Jab
2- Jab, Cross
3- Jab Cross Hook
4-Jab Cross Hook Cross

and if you were adding kicks it would be for when you throw a 1 or 3 you would use a swing kick to the body which is your right leg if right handed and left leg if you left handed. and vice-versa for 2 and 4.
Jackelope
6/28/10 8:31:44PM
For the main style punches/kicks-

1- Jab
2- Cross
3- Lead Hook

9- Kick with lead leg
10- Kick with power leg