Should Governments Legalize and Tax Marijuana?

MMAPlayground.com » Off Topic » Off Topic » Should Governments Legalize and Tax Marijuana?
« Previous Page | Next Page »
Rush
11/2/08 5:50:09PM

Posted by AnDeRsonDaSiLvA

9 different studies spanning over the last 25 years regarding marijuana and driving

cmill read this

You see, I have a problem web sites like this and it has nothing to do with the subject matter.

First, I hate it when the classical "studies show" line is shown, but there is no reference to the actual study. I picked three random examples of theirs: 1 the link was broken, 2 the link took me to a list of references, 3 a pubmed abstract.

As a scientist I spend many days on pubmed. I just read the abstract and I will point out how facts can get skewed.

This is what the site (the link above) stated about the study.

Researchers at the Dutch Institute for Road Safety Research analyzed blood tests from those in traffic accidents, and found that even people with blood alcohol between 0.5% and 0.8% (below the legal limit) had a five-fold increase in the risk of serious accident. Drivers above the legal alcohol limit were 15 times more likely to have a collisionDrugs like Valium and Rohypnol produced results similar to alcohol, while cocaine and opiates showed only a small but "not statistically significant" increase in accident risk. As for the marijuana-only users? They showed absolutely no increased risk of accidents at all..

I bolded the false or skewed statements. Now, I will admit that I have not read the article, but abstracts are essentially summaries as to what was done and what the results were.

So, from the abstract.
-The study was done using people that were admitted to hospital for car or van accidents.

Cases were car or van drivers involved in road crashes needing hospitalisation