Good Gyms in Columbus Ohio?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Good Gyms in Columbus Ohio?
Brownsfan222
5/7/07 10:25:59AM
Any good MMA, MT, or JJ gyms in Columbus? Im still in high school so about 90 a month is my limit. I am a beginner but I want to learn and I learn quickly. Also anybody ever been to or heard anything about IMB columbus? www.imbcolumbus.com its 75 a month for unlimited classes of BJJ and MT. I think i might go there. Whats the best to start with?
bayonetxwork
5/7/07 3:24:39PM
I was in the same boat a few years ago. I'm a Junior now in high school now, but have been training for a few years. IMO, the best way to start is with boxing, or wrestling. Both teach you the skills you need to apply in order to create a good stand up or ground game. A lot of people try to jump into muay thai before any boxing or kickboxing experience, and its just too much for them. Muay Thai is a lot bigger of a commitment than that of boxing or kickboxing. Get a solid stand up or wrestling base, then progress into some of the other disciplines.

Now I'm saying that from experience. I jumped right into Muay Thai 2.5 years ago, and it was wayy to intense at the time that I thought about dropping it. Now I've gotten used to training like this, and am actually training for a tournament the end of this month. Start basic, then crosstrain. I regret not getting a solid base before training like a madman.
Brownsfan222
5/7/07 6:42:30PM
I am a distance runner for the high schools track team. I am in decent shape. I dont think that will be a factor. And my hands and feet arent bad i just want to make them better and have 1 or 2 fights before college. I might do judo too if I can find the time for it but I will only have nights so I doubt it. I learn boxing from my dad by the way who was a golden gloves boxer when he was my age.
bayonetxwork
5/8/07 2:53:41PM

Posted by Brownsfan222