General workout questions.

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » General workout questions.
bojangalz
10/17/08 3:18:21AM
OK, here's a little quick background. I'm 5-9 currently 156 lbs. FOr the past several years I've spent the summer running off the weight I gain over the long Minnesota winter. I usually find myself at about 175 by spring time.

A few weeks back I was selected as a representative from my department to join the regional SWAT team. I am without question the smallest guy on the team. I feel great in my current physical condition (honeslty the best I've felt in probably 10 years). But I know that I should probably be around 170 los or so. I just got back from my first workout at our local gym. I'm using a 12-week beginners weight routine that I found online to get myself started.

I've haven't done any serious strength training before, so I've got a few questions that I need help with. Bare with me if some of these are dumb questions, total noob here.

First- I keep reading that the best way to bulk is by taking protein sups. Will it be difficult for me to add bulk if I don't take them? I honeslty can't afford them at this point, it was a stretch just getting the membership taken care of.

I realize that I need to add extra protein to my diet. Is there a specific time relative to my workout when I should be consuming it? (My work hours are crazy, sometimes I'm on day shift, then I'll be working late nights a few days later)

I understand that recovery days are equally as important as workout days. On a recovery day after working my legs is it still ok to run or do other cardio?

The workout that I started is a total body workout which calls for 1 set of 15 for the first three weeks, then increase sets as the weeks go on. How should I expect to feel after a set during the first few workouts? Should I be setting the weights for an easy set to start out? Or am I better served to start out feeling moderate fatigue after a given set?