footwork

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » footwork
ko-kbo130
6/28/07 11:40:55AM
ive been boxing for a few months now but im having a problem with my footwork when i throw a long combo. does anyone have any advice to help me with this?
Mastodon2
6/28/07 11:58:09AM
Can't really help unless you tell us what the problem is!

I assume your problem is that when you are throwing long combos you are just planting your feet, instead of moving constantly, to which I would ask why its such a problem - personally I like to keep on the move and use short combos, counters and strong single strikes to wear my opponents down, and then dont thrown a long combo until they are done, and Its just to finish them off, at this point I dont think crisp footwork is all that important since I wouldnt do this unless they really were on the way out, and I knew they couldnt counter me. Even then I tend to stay bouncy on the balls of my feet, rather than just plant on the spot.

ko-kbo130
6/28/07 12:43:39PM
well the problem is my feet move to much. i normally jus throw short combos but even when hitting a bag or something my feet feel like they are slipping out from under me.
fedorwins1
6/28/07 12:48:29PM
Maybe your floor is slippery?. It will come with practice, you will gain better balance.
ko-kbo130
6/28/07 1:04:22PM
well its not slipper because its carpet. do you guys know any drills i c an do to help it?
Mastodon2
6/28/07 6:48:20PM
Is your base wide enough? You need to have a nice wide base and stay springy on the balls of your feet, if you are planting to lay on a long combo, widen your legs a little bit, tuck your chin in and lean forward a little bit, you only have to shift your centre of balance very slightly.
Rush
6/28/07 7:26:29PM
Shouldn't this be a question you ask your boxing instructor?
fedorwins1
6/28/07 7:46:20PM

Posted by Rush

Shouldn't this be a question you ask your boxing instructor?