finding natural weight class

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » finding natural weight class
haggiswashere
9/15/08 5:31:47AM
how do you find your natural weight class?
cmb19932
9/15/08 8:23:28AM
im not an expert but eat when you feel hungry then train hard and whatever you weigh should be your natural weight class
bullettdodger
9/15/08 10:21:49AM
I think cmb was on the right track... now im no expert myself but i think that if you, like he said eat normally (healthy, but normally) and then once you've been doing that for a little while what ever you are walking around at. Now someone who is 180 walking around is probably going to want to cut weight so they can be competitive in whatever weight class they decide to make their home. So they'd cut 10-15 lbs in some cases more to get to the weight class they feel comfortable in. So most people who walk at 160-165 would probably cut to the LW division so they can be competitive. I could be wrong on that or i could have answered a different question. Hope my random babble helped.
cmb19932
9/15/08 2:47:05PM
thts how i did it wrestling but like i said its all about being comfortable if your not comfortable your gonna get killed
Rush
9/15/08 2:59:51PM
IMO, your natural weight calss is the weight range that you gain or lose weight at the lowest rate.

i.e. My natural weight is between 160 and 170 lbs with good diet and moderate exercise. I have to do an exceptional amount of working out (like 9 times a week of intense exercise) to drop below 160lbs, but when I do, I quickly re-gain that weight if I do not maintain that level. Likwise, for me to weigh over 170lbs, I have to eat really poor and not work out much if at all.

So I usually consider my natural weight to be about 165lbs, which would make me a lightweight by UFC weight class standards.
fullerene
9/15/08 3:22:35PM