Becoming A Fighter

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » General MMA Talk » Becoming A Fighter
UnknownFighterXL
3/8/12 2:41:28PM
Hello Everyone,
I'm pretty new here and just had some questions in regards to the sport and ran across this site.

But let me again and tell a little about myself.
I am 23 year old game developer (self employed) and have been relatively athletic and active most of my life. I've grown up playing football and did wrestling for 2 years in high school. I've also done power lifting during off season of football but lifted weights year round.

I also should state that I have been pretty much inactive for the past 4 years and it has taken its toll on my body. I've gained close to 60 lbs since I graduated from high school. (sitting at almost 240 and was a lean 180 when graduating) Now I never intended to become utterly lazy since I graduated but it kind of just happened. This is due to my line of work, getting into a serious relationship and becoming a father.

My work life consists of me waking up and spending most of my day working on my next project. (and spending time with my wife or son) Admittedly I probably would have a lot more time to use for other things if I were more productive. (rather then surf the net or watch T.V) The money I make is very good but every since beginning this I have found that I miss doing sports and being active (a lot).

Over the past several years I have become increasingly interested in MMA. It began when just out of high school I went to watch a friend in his first MMA fight. Although it didnt go well for him ive always wondered what it would be like for me to get into the sport myself. Not to mention ive spent a lot of time watching fights and becoming familiar with the sport.
Now I know that its one thing to watch the sport and something completely different to be in it. So I know its something that wouldn't be easy.