What to eat before training

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » What to eat before training
Aaronno9
9/9/08 8:04:43AM
So, im going to my first training session tomorow at a local mma club, and im pretty much shitting my pants at this point

Anyways, im out of shape but the guys said to come along anyways and just going to the classes and rolling with them with them will help get me back in shape, so im wondering what should i be eating, or not be eating before i go. I mean, i really dont want to be their having ate something i shouldnt and to last even shorter than i normally would.

Im a vegetarian btw so no meat.
Jackelope
9/9/08 9:37:19AM
I'm no nutrition expert, but I like to eat some good carb loads a couple hours before I work out. Maybe some pasta for lunch or something like that. I also like to eat bananas the day of a big work out (usually in the morning) to make sure my muscles don't cramp up too bad. After the workout make sure you get some protein in your system to feed your muscles for recovery.

One thing I would definitely stay away from is any heavy dairy products within an hour or two before the workout. You'll toss your cookies all over the mat and nobody wants that
Aaronno9
9/9/08 9:52:17AM

Posted by Jackelope

I'm no nutrition expert, but I like to eat some good carb loads a couple hours before I work out. Maybe some pasta for lunch or something like that. I also like to eat bananas the day of a big work out (usually in the morning) to make sure my muscles don't cramp up too bad. After the workout make sure you get some protein in your system to feed your muscles for recovery.

One thing I would definitely stay away from is any heavy dairy products within an hour or two before the workout. You'll toss your cookies all over the mat and nobody wants that

Haha. Ok, cheers
JiuJitsuGirl
9/11/08 11:59:47PM
Don't eat anything crazy like Chinese or a big lunch... but you want to have something so...