Don't Look Down on Me!

MMAPlayground.com » Off Topic » Off Topic » Don't Look Down on Me!
Sledge23
11/5/08 9:00:57PM
Do people around you make fun of you or give you a hard time about being an MMA fan. Do they say crap like "MMA is stupid" "thats dumb who wants too see people punch eachother" "what a waste of time"

Iget it alot from people in every part of my life. It's getting old, I should just put them all in a triangle.

What about other people, Do yall get hassled for loving MMA?
Rush
11/5/08 9:03:53PM
Not hassled, but some people look at me as being "less educated" because of it. Keep in mind that I am a PhD student, so the people I speak of are typically arrogant academics.
dannyfrank
11/5/08 9:23:17PM
yeah, i get a lot of shit for liking mma too. it seems to be hated in the carolinas or something
DJDark41
11/5/08 9:29:11PM

Posted by Rush

Not hassled, but some people look at me as being "less educated" because of it. Keep in mind that I am a PhD student, so the people I speak of are typically arrogant academics.

Its funny, cause I'm a very bright kid, and when people hear that I'm into such a "brutal" sport, or a sport that is just "guys rolling around in underwear," I laugh at them and say, "Really now? What MMA fights have you watched? How many pay-per-views have you seen?" And quickly, they shut up. And I even have friends who I've become friends with through talking about MMA. I saw the kid wearing a Tapout shirt and started talking to him and now we're friends. But at first, most people try to debate the legitimacy of it as a sport, and then when they realize they have NO idea what they are talking about and they are totally cornered, they shut their mouths and leave.
nastshabast
11/5/08 11:16:34PM
I'm from Alberta and it seems like everyone is down with this shit.
Jackelope
11/5/08 11:29:24PM
It's still largely looked down upon, but I will say this-