Doctor Who Operated On Nick Diaz Explains Procedure

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » General MMA Talk » Doctor Who Operated On Nick Diaz Explains Procedure
grappler0000
6/18/08 7:38:25AM
Let Them Fight

I first met Nick Diaz as a guest in my home. He and mutual friend were there to watch a televised UFC event. This was shortly after his [Nick’s] bout against K.J. Noons. Nick was obviously disgusted with the outcome, and unlike his TV persona had very few words on the matter. The fight was stopped due to the severity of the lacerations that Diaz sustained over his eyes during that fight. This was not the first time that this problem (cutting) has plagued Nick or other fighters.

Having seen the fight, I offered Nick a possible solution to his problem. A solution that would give him the best opportunity to finish fights without stoppage from cuts. He seemed very interested…this got his attention! I explained that as a reconstructive plastic surgeon, I have solid experience in treating facial trauma and complex wounds. Being an avid boxing and MMA fan, I had conceptualized a technique from several reconstructive facial that could be adapted for this purpose.

I began by explaining why I believed this was happening to him and other fighters. The mechanism is simple, the superior orbital rim, or bony ridge above the eye socket, acts as a sharp edge.(Figure 1A) A blow to the eye, usually straight punch or upper- cut, generates tremendous force against the skin over this bony ridge. The result is what is often referred to as a “blast type” laceration or cut. This occurs when these forces exceed the bursting-strength of the skin.