cups?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » cups?
jomatty
8/11/07 8:32:22AM
keeping with my trend of asking ridiculous questions, i have one about undergarments.

Do you guys who practice judo or BJJ wear cups when you work out? How about in competion?

Id never really thought about (im very new to all this) but last night i had two different things happen. One was during an especially hard throw and i didnt get hit in the nuts but i still had some serious discomfort. the second was rolling with a BJJ guy and i took a knee when he was passing my guard. not fun...

anyhow is this something that just happens or do you guys wear cups? if so do you wear the same sort of cup you wear for baseball or is there a specific style that is needed.

anyhow thanks in advance for answering a probably stupid question
Mastodon2
8/11/07 9:17:08AM
You should never been in a Martial arts situation without a cup.

Even when Im just at home with my brother, doing some Thai pad work, or non-contact or light contact drills, I always wear a cup. I use a Twins Steel cup, made in Thailand, designed for use by Thai boxers. For BJJ, Karate and Judo I wouldnt say you need a steel one, a strong plastic one would do, since the groin shots you will take there arent full on blasting shots, they are more like glancing blows and accidental bumps (which as Im sure you know, can be amazingly painful in themselves!).

That said, I think the Twins steel cup is so comfortable, that I could do Judo with it on and hardly even notice its there, so you might want to get a steel one, just to be on the safe side. Make sure you get the right size cup though, if you get one and it doesnt feel perfect, send it back and get another size. If you don't get the right size it will feel uncomfortable, it will either squash your nuts, or slip around during training.