A couple grappling questions

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » A couple grappling questions
fedorwins1
7/24/07 1:08:21PM
Ok I'm fairly new to grappling and I have a few "noobish" questions.

1.) When I'm in someone's guard, where should my arms be and where should my head be? I usually put my forearms on the ground and my forehead on the center of their chest, but this is letting the people set up gogo's and also, I get put in alot of guilotines.

2.) What is a good way to pass the half butterfly guard and butterfly guard?

3.) When people shrimp up when they're in half guard how do I stay on top of them and advance or keep my position?

4.) When dealing with a lanky grappler, what is good offense and good defense?

Also, whoever on here said that you don't need a cup when doing no gi grappling lied, last night I was in someone's half butterfly guard and they did a sweep and if I would have had a cup on they wouldn't of gotten it, but it hurt so bad that I just rolled over to stop the pain lol. Also, kneebars without cups on = ouch.

bayonetxwork
7/24/07 3:28:22PM

Posted by fedorwins1

1.) When I'm in someone's guard, where should my arms be and where should my head be? I usually put my forearms on the ground and my forehead on the center of their chest, but this is letting the people set up gogo's and also, I get put in alot of guilotines.

3.) When people shrimp up when they're in half guard how do I stay on top of them and advance or keep my position?

Also, whoever on here said that you don't need a cup when doing no gi grappling lied, last night I was in someone's half butterfly guard and they did a sweep and if I would have had a cup on they wouldn't of gotten it, but it hurt so bad that I just rolled over to stop the pain lol. Also, kneebars without cups on = ouch.