For Brian Stann, Change Is Good

MMAPlayground.com » Community » MMA News Share Forum » For Brian Stann, Change Is Good
MMAcca
7/30/08 5:59:55PM
Four years ago, when Brian Stann turned pro, he was looking to pad his resume with something that might make for interesting conversation 10 or 20 years down the road. Winning a major championship was the furthest thing was from his mind.

“The first day I started training I thought, ‘This is really cool and it would be cool to look back on my life and say I fought professionally and as an amateur for a little while,’” the 27-year-old recalled. “It was just something I thought would be a great hobby. All of a sudden I turned pro, kept winning fights and here I am. You have to remind me everyday that I’m a champion of a big organization because I certainly don’t remember it or think about it. I never expected to be where I’m at. I’m very fortunate.”

The unbeaten WEC light heavyweight champion, who had lived in North Carolina, recently relocated to Atlanta. Stann has a new job in the healthcare industry and a flexible work schedule that allows him to train full-time. He raves about so-called “Hotlanta” being a hotbed of MMA talent. Just as important, for the first time in his career, Stann has MMA coaches like Adam and Rory Singer, Roan Carneiro and Roberto Traven teaching him the X’s and O’s of technique and fight strategy. After 9 years of military service – including two tours in Iraq – Stann is no longer on active duty, affording him more time to train for his upcoming rematch with Steve Cantwell. And though Stann smashed Cantwell in 49 seconds during their first go-round, he isn’t taking the dangerous challenger lightly.

LINK
whardin19
7/30/08 6:12:55PM
Stann is a tough, tough dude. I think after he gets seasoned in WEC he will definetally be going to the UFC. A couple more years of training and he could be force in the UFC. His wrestling is top notch. His stand up is good and I think he could compete.
Wolfenstein