Bodyweight / Plyo Exercises?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Bodyweight / Plyo Exercises?
dubya
7/12/07 11:01:06AM
Lately i've been extremely confused as to what type of strength & conditioning training to do for MMA. I've been training for about 6 months now and I seem to switch my routines a lot between bodyweight/plyo & free weights. Im considering going back to a good bodyweight/plyo routine. I know quite a few exercises for these but I know some people out there have some that I could add to my routine to enhance my results, any input on this?
schlegel5252
7/12/07 11:50:26AM
you said you know a lot of them, could you share some of them because I am also trying to put together a bodyweight/plyo workout and i need all the ideas I can get

thanks
dubya
7/12/07 1:25:04PM
The ones I have used in the past were different pushup variations(wide,close,plyo,handstand etc..) Pullups & chinups, Single leg squats & squat thrusts, dips & bench dips, Burpees w.pushup. These are the main ones im probably missing a couple. I would also do a triset or superset utilizing these exercises
ex. 8 pullups, 8 plyo pushups, 8 chinups. (all as one set without rest)
fedorwins1
7/12/07 6:24:15PM
Try some pedastles and box jumps
Rua22
7/12/07 7:41:48PM
dub try following a workout regiment that matches your physique. for example, i am 6'3 and 188 lbs. for months i tried getting to like 200 and it about killed my digestive tract. now, i follow a regiment more suited to me, which is an intense circuit training method. if you have the ability to pack on the pounds you might wanna try supersets. personally, the circuit training is great for a lean guy like me, my cardio is insane and lean mass feels alot better to me than bulk. you should try running hills and maybe think about putting some sand in a backpack and running with that. box jumps and backboard touches are nice too. commando crawls are a great pushup exercise, maybe you should throw those at the end of your workout.