Blocking Kicks.

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Blocking Kicks.
johnnybravo
12/13/07 11:44:41AM
I’ve been training Muay Thai for about 3-4 months now (originally into boxing) but I have had some issues with checking kicks.

I find it a lot less painful to take a kick to the leg as it just goes numb (difficulty walking for the next week tho). But when I try and check (lifting leg with toes pointing up and away from me) it is bloody sore on the shin to the point I feel like its going to break.
My shin doesn't hurt when throwing a kick that is checked and I don’t see anyone else having issues with this in training which leads me to think it may just be a technique issue.

Has anyone else had this problem? Or is it just something that gets better with time?
loonytnt
12/13/07 1:15:28PM
the more you do it the better it will feel
cmill21
12/13/07 1:34:09PM
Drink more milk. It's never going to feel great, you are being kicked in the leg, it's just not nearly as painful as taking it in the thigh.
postman
12/13/07 3:40:13PM
I try to check them with my knee but if it gets on the shin I kick off turning him and opening a nice follow up punch.

I should have pointed out that I meant the lower part of the kenn or uper shin.
Omega
12/13/07 4:41:08PM
a. Condition your shins more.
b. use a rotating leg block
c. rotata taking it and using a leg block
d. Wear shin guards
e. Learn counter kicking.
bayonetxwork
12/13/07 6:29:22PM
It takes time man. A lot of thai gyms have very hard bags to kick, this in turn helps to deaden the nerves around your shin area. Do it right, check the kick, and man up now. In the long run, when you start competing against guys that can drop you with leg kicks, you'll be happy that you don't feel kick so much on the shins.

Oh BTW, sometimes you can get lucky when you check, and hurt them.
johnnybravo
12/13/07 7:10:21PM