Best bag for beginner in Muay Thai

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Best bag for beginner in Muay Thai
Timwat
10/20/08 10:09:54AM
Hi all,
I'm a MMA newbie but plan to get started training mainly as a hobby for now. I just ordered a dvd series on Muay Thai to get familiar and in shape before I take any formal classes. I'd like to go ahead and get a heavy bag since I'll be training alone. I'll only have one bag for now so which type would be best? I'm looking at standard heavy bags, the banana type muay thai bags, and the century bob standing bag. Also, I'm 5'11 210 (weight should come down 20-30 lbs with training). Will I need the 100 lb bag if I go with the first two types?

Thanks in advance,
Tim
BlooD_FighteR
10/20/08 5:17:48PM
I Currenty fight muay thai an the best advice i cud give u is start with a lighter bag especialy for kicks as it take a while for your shins to adapt to blows, so that said i wud start conditioning your shins asap regardless of if your fighting or not. Best way to do this is light repeated kicks to the base of a heavy bag. Hope this helps you and good luck with your training! BlooD_FighteR
Jackelope
10/20/08 7:44:57PM
Get the long thai bags. Your first kicks you will be learning should be low kicks. That way you can properly execute your form without feeling like you have to reach higher and higher. With a standard heavy bag you will have to be kicking waist high just to kick it. That will lead to bad form.

You'll hear differing opinions, but I find Revgear bags to hold up quite nicely. Fairtex is recommended by a lot of people (the smooth texture of a fairtex bag is nice) but in my experience they can rip open.
The-Don
10/21/08 8:26:17AM

Posted by Timwat

Hi all,