I would like your advice, please!

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » I would like your advice, please!
Van_Eagan
4/11/08 12:55:56AM
I'm a newbie to this forum, and a newbie in general when it comes to mixed martial arts. My blessing and my curse is that I live in Orange County California (Irvine), where there are a ton of academies to choose from. My blessing is that there is a large selection of academies, my curse is that I'm totally confused as to which academy I should join.

Since I'm so new to this sport, I could sure use your advice when it comes to choosing an academy or patricular style of martial arts. Should I choose an academy that focuses on one style of martial arts, or an academy that teaches multiple disciplines. Here are a few academies I'm interested in joining.

Orange County Muay Thai - I'm going to check them out tomorrow. From everything I've heard or read, they sound impressive. However, they only focus on Muay Thai.

Orange County Judo Training Center - I still need to visit the academy, but it sounds like a well run academy. They appear to integrate judo and BJJ, however, I'm not sure how detailed their BJJ class is. They seem to focus primarily on Judo, and no classes that teach striking.

Subfighter - They teach multiple disciplines, such as; mma, muay thai, and bjj. However, I'm not sure they are as technical or experienced as some of the other academies that specialize on only one discipline.

I could join two clubs, but that would be rather expensive. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

drunkel
4/11/08 8:25:06AM
I'd train in Judo, if not here are some factors to consider:
Price
Location, how long has the school been there? Long term?
How many times a week to you plan on going?
Do they offer classes when you are open/free to go?
Instructors
Class sizes
Gym cleanliness
Each of the gyms should offer an introductory free class also.