Does anyone actually compete in MMA?

MMAPlayground.com » MMA General » MMA Training » Does anyone actually compete in MMA?
Taylor8766
5/10/10 7:04:00PM
Hey I am currently thinking about competeing in MMA of course I still have a but of training left to do, I have been training for a couple months and love it and lately I have been really interesed in actually competing, and I was just wondering if anyone else has had thoughts of competing or actually does compete, just a few questiong I have, like: how long should I train before I start to compete? I know I have to be well rounded but what would be better to have in my first fight a standing game or ground game? and do I need to get a license to fight?
AchillesHeel
5/10/10 7:54:52PM
The "MMA Training" section of the forum is probably where you want to go.
CwB
5/10/10 8:01:29PM
First let me say that I do not compete in MMA, so I cant answer all your questions, But.
The best person to ask about, when your first MMA fight should be, is the guy training you. Your coach will be able to gage your skill set and determine if your ready or not.
BlueSkiesBurn
5/10/10 8:21:04PM
It's pretty much one of those deals when both you and your coach will know when you're ready. Depending on how good or bad the promotions are in your immediate area you may be able to pick a couple of confidence boosters sooner rather than later. I wouldn't rush anything, though.
Cruz
6/17/10 3:04:02AM
I have been competing in MMA for about 12 years now. I've trained under Chuck Liddell for 12 years and John Hackleman for 8 of those years, amongst others. I don't tell you this to brag but to give credibility to my insight. These other guys giving you advice are spot on. As long as your trainer is credible, he will be able to let you know when you're ready. Since you make it seem like you have no knowledge of MMA yet, you might not be able to tell if your coach is legit. Finding out if he is a legit coach can be hard but an important step.

Cruz Gomez