There's no pro boxer in Couture's camp to mimic Toney

MMAPlayground.com » Community » MMA News Share Forum » There's no pro boxer in Couture's camp to mimic Toney
BigIP
7/22/10 11:41:22AM
"I have no intention and no illusion that I'm a world class boxer," said Couture. "I'm a mixed martial artist. I've won the majority of my fights by taking guys down, putting them on their back and punching the until they don't want to be punched anymore. That's not going to change."

Couture has made interesting choice of training partners to try and replicate what Toney brings to the table. Couture didn't bring in any high level boxers and is working with his usual cast of characters.

Link
tcunningham
7/22/10 12:23:49PM
he may not have a pro boxer in his gym to train with but i just dont see couture coming out unprepared.
c-dub
7/22/10 1:00:45PM
I dont c Randy coming out trying 2 stand with toney anyway I look 4 randy 2 take this fight 2 the ground and try 2 make a example out of toney and finish this fight quickly.
Giant_Ochai
7/22/10 1:18:55PM

Posted by c-dub

I dont c Randy coming out trying 2 stand with toney anyway I look 4 randy 2 take this fight 2 the ground and try 2 make a example out of toney and finish this fight quickly.

Exactly. Randy doing anything else would be idiotic and careless. The last thing Dana White and the Fertittas want to see is one of MMA's all-time greats get schooled by one punch.
BigIP
7/22/10 1:42:20PM
Can you believe Toney caught King MO in a guillotine?
bjj1605
7/22/10 2:14:21PM
This is good news. Randy is trying to build the mentality that he doesn't want to be on the feet with this guy. If he was working on his boxing he might be tempted to try it out. He isn't going to improve enough to stand with Toney any way. It's better to focus on takedowns and urgency to get the fight on the ground.
ncordless
7/22/10 4:53:44PM

Posted by BigIP